Weymouth fans face a tough choice at the polls this year.

As politicians campaign fiercely ahead of the General Election, the winner of this season’s Terras’ Player of the Year appears too close to call.

More candidates than ever before will be on the ballot paper when supporters cast their votes before the St Albans City game at the Wessex Stadium on April 30.

Over 40 players are hoping to follow in the footsteps of last year’s winner Steve Tully, who joined Exeter City on a free transfer earlier this year.

After another rollercoaster year at Radipole Lane, the winner of the Conference South award looks tougher to predict than ever especially as so many players have come and gone over the last few months.

Skipper Matt Bound appears a leading contender to scoop the coveted honour which has been won in recent years by keeper Jason Matthews and former midfielder Mark Robinson.

Bound has consistently impressed in the heart of the Terras defence over the course of a turbulent season.

The rugged centre half moved to the Wessex Stadium from Oxford United last summer under former boss Steve Claridge.

Bound’s Terras career got off to the best possible start, scoring a defeat to Cambridge City.

The ex-Swansea City star’s no-nonsense performances since have secured him the captaincy under first Steve Johnson and now Garry Hill.

Other contenders include striker Kirk Jackson, keeper Jason Matthews and veteran midfielder Ian Hutchinson for whom the award would be a perfect end to his testimonial year.

The club’s Supporters Club are also asking for nomination for Weymouth’s Supporter of the Year award.

Other prizes include Players Player, Top Scorer and Reserve Player of the Year. Presentations will be made at an end of season ceremony at the Hotel Prince Regent next month.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *